Review: Modibodi are revolutionising menstruation. Period.

When Modibodi reached out to me to try their period pants, I was sceptical to say the least. I am an avid tampon user when it is my time of the month, barely touching the crumply three-fold pads. Wings, no wings – I just can’t get comfortable in them and it acts as a rampant reminder that I must endure 4 days of endless blood. Why would I want that kind of restlessness when a tampon will put my mind at ease for a few hours? I’ll succumb to the odd panty liner when the occasion calls and my body needs a break at night.

It feels strange to be talking about a topic that has been taboo for so many years. Blood, while seen as a trophy of bravery for men in battles or the more common scuffle on the street, is simultaneously a sign of weakness for women. We’re comfortable talking about mood swings, spot breakouts and “that time of the month” – but there’s an unease talking about the technicalities of a period. Menstruation. It’s a biological function, it has to happen. So, where the bloody hell are the changes we need?

Blood, while seen as a trophy of bravery for men in battles or the more common scuffle on the street, is simultaneously a sign of weakness for women.

The Australian underwear brand Modibodi might just be the answer to our pleas. Their pants merge science and technology with female expertise (they know the struggles all too well) to provide us with eco undies for everyone. I tried out three pairs over the course of my period: classic bikini in black, sensual hi-waist bikini in grey mist and classic bikini in blue lagoon. Each of these were light-moderate absorbency and, in hindsight, I definitely should have checked this as I tried using them at some of my heaviest points. That said, I only had one self-inflicted incident where the pants were not quite strong enough on the first day.

My boyfriend laughed when I showed him the pants – “nice nappies” was his response. I actually laughed with him, recognising they are not the sexiest pants in the world. But then again, my separate pile of ‘old period pants’ weren’t exactly the most attractive items either. I also worried that having to rinse the pants in cold water would be a gruesome task that would put many people off – but as I already do this sometimes on my period it really proved no extra effort. Give them a rinse, pop them in a cold wash and dry for another use. Functional and sustainable! *  

The pants were – admittedly – a little grannyish shape when on. But I was not opposed to this. I felt tucked in, supported and as though they were giving my body a reassuring hug through mild cramps. I think that’s just what you crave when you’re on your period. They stretched to my bloaty lower tummy whilst still holding everything ‘down there’ in place so that I never once worried about bleeding through. The colours were also bright and fun and I liked the addition of lace on one of the pairs to segregate you from the real granny panties.

I felt tucked in, supported and as though they were giving my body a reassuring hug through mild cramps. I think that’s just what you crave when you’re on your period.

I was thrilled to hear that Modibodi doesn’t stop at periods – their pants also cater to teens (I wish I’d known about them then!) and provide a solution to everyday struggles such as incontinence, mummy breast-milk leaks, for swimming and even for those sweaty workouts. I’d put money on the fact that nearly every woman has worried about their bodily fluids at some point in their life.   

Periods, pee, perspiration and pregnancy – Modibodi seems to not only proffer their products but they also debunk a taboo. With their diverse models, shame-free mottos and products that are addressing a problem faced by most women, I really feel that Modibodi are revolutionising menstruation. Period. 

If you fancy going with the flow in the current Covid-19 climate, Modibodi have launched a #NoPanicPeriod campaign in response to Covid-19. As disposable sanitary products have been scarce in some supermarkets as a result of panic buying, there has never been a better time to switch to these sustainable undies! You can even access a 15% discount with this code: NOPANICPERIOD15.

Leave a comment